Spotlight Series: Dr. Rachelle Thompson

Over the first 18 weeks of the new year, we will be conducting one on one interviews with each of our veterinarians in an effort to help you get to know all of them better! In addition to the interview, they will be posting pictures on our facebook account during their week to share some behind the scenes images of their day to day. We hope you enjoy following along!

Up this week is Rachelle Thompson, DVM. Dr. Thompson is currently with our practice completing her internship. She enjoys all aspects of equine medicine, especially lameness and internal medicine.  In her spare time, she enjoys riding, hiking, and spending time with her family.

Q: What colleges/universities did you attend? When someone asks “where did you go to school?” what do you tell them?
A: I attended Marshall University for my undergraduate studies.  There I received a Bachelor of Sciences in Biology. I received my veterinary education at the Virginia Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.  This veterinary school is supported by both Virginia Tech and the University of Maryland. I attended classes at Virginia Tech and lived in Blacksburg, so I consider myself a proud alumnus of VT.

Q: Tell me about the animals you own now.
A: I have a Beagle mix named Lennie who is such a sweet boy.  His Beagle nose and independent nature are always getting him into trouble.  I have a Quaker parrot named Jabber who will turn 15 years old this year! I’ve had him since he was young.  I’ve taught him a fairly large vocabulary and discovered he has quite the sense of humor over the years. He’s a very cool pet and a good companion.  Lastly, I have a horse named Willie who I consider my heart horse. I will post more about him later this week! I was unable to bring him to New Jersey for my internship, and not seeing his cute face every day has been a challenge for sure.

Q: What do you do for fun, outside of work and spend time with your animals?
A: When I get a weekend off, I like to visit my family.  They live in my hometown of Huntington, WV, which is an 8 hour trip in the car from New Jersey.  We usually find a fun place to meet in the middle for the weekend. We found fun things to do in northern Virginia, Hershey, PA, Maryland, and New York.  

Q: If you weren’t a vet, what would you do for a living?
A: I can’t think of another job I would be happy doing aside from veterinary medicine.  From the time I was a child in elementary school, I have said I want to be a vet. If I wasn’t a vet, I would be working with animals in some other capacity, as I feel that is my calling in life.    

Q: Favorite place you’ve ever traveled to?
A: Probably my trip to Costa Rica where I took surfing lessons!  I was terrible at it, but I have some great memories from that trip.  

Q: Dream vacation?
A: I have never been to Europe.  I would love to take a trip covering a few countries there.  Australia is also on my bucket list!

Q: Favorite food?
A: Pasta and pizza are two of my favorite things.  I guess if I had to pick one favorite food, it would be spinach ravioli.  

Q: Something most people don’t know about me…
A: I used to be a ballerina!  I started ballet classes when I was 3 years old and continued for about 18 years.  

Q: If you could have a gigantic billboard anywhere with anything on it — metaphorically speaking, getting a message out to millions or billions — what would it say and why? It could be a few words or a paragraph.
A: Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

Q: What purchase of $100 or less has most positively impacted your life in the last six months (or in recent memory)?
A: My fleece lined jeans have changed my life!

 

Comments are closed.